Starflight

Starflight

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
7
3
1
Rate this:
Former high school enemies Solara Brooks and Doran Spaulding must team up when they find themselves aboard a renegade spaceship.
Publisher: Los Angeles : Hyperion, 2016.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781484723241
1484723244
Branch Call Number: YA FIC LAN
Characteristics: 359 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

spl_merley Jan 19, 2017

Once this book gets going it takes you on a rollicking space Western ride full of action, close calls, and a little romantic drama too. Landers definitely captures the vastness of space and the precariousness of life in this story. I really enjoyed the smart banter between the main characters and the way that adversity forges friendships and creates family. Plenty of surprises and sticky situations to enjoy.

t
twhitehead24
Oct 28, 2016

I read Starflight as part of our high school’s annual Kindle Tournament (the March Madness of books). This was the first book that I have read by Melissa Landers and a book that I will be recommending to students at the school. Meet Solara, an orphan convicted of a crime and the will of David, who will do what she needs to do in order to get what she wants. Her goal is to get to the outer fringe of space and do mechanical work in order to live in peace. Meet Doran, a spoiled rich kid who would like nothing better than to put Solara in her place. With a little loss of memory by Doran, caused by Solara, tables get turned very quickly. Both Doran and Solara end up on a spaceship manned by a motley crew and a sympathizing Captain. As Doran tries to figure out why he was supposed to get to Obsidian, find a hidden spacecraft, and complete a task that was given to him by his dad, he finds that there are secrets beginning to shed light. Add some space pirates in the mix, a little bit of romance, and you have a great light read. Starflight proves that you never know where your true friends come from and how true friends really have your back. Loved Starflight!

j
joywolf83
Sep 10, 2016

It is reminiscent of Firefly. The book jacket summary is misleading. Story good action and adventure. I liked it and woukd enjoy reading the next.

k
katiebug92
Aug 26, 2016

This book definitely reminded me of the tv series Firefly.

Fans of Firefly and Battlestar -- THIS IS YOUR BOOK! Interplanetary adventure, starcrossed lovers, conspiracy and con artists... if any of that sounds awesome to you, you'll love Starflight. First in a series.

l
lmshaw00
Jun 24, 2016

This was an engaging read with lots of action and a cast of intriguing characters.

h
happycanuck
Mar 31, 2016

Started off with action that was a bit too juvenile but soon improved. By half-way through, it was a page turner with lots of twists and turns.

Age

Add Age Suitability

r
Red_Cat_41
Oct 16, 2017

Red_Cat_41 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

s
sofia_24
Apr 29, 2017

sofia_24 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

spl_merley Jan 19, 2017

spl_merley thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

spl_merley Jan 19, 2017

In an overcrowded earth, where opportunities are few and far between, Solara is ready for a new start in a place where no one will care about her past. The only problem is how to get to the outer realm. Signing up as a servant to the rich, entitled Doran, who made her time at school a nightmare, may pay her way but it might be harder than she imagined. When Doran makes to abandon her at an outpost before reaching their destination desperate Solara sets in motion a role reversing plot that lands them both on a freighter with a curious crew bound to the outer realm. Pursued by enforcers and bounty hunters for reasons they don't entirely understand Solara and Doran must forge a tense alliance to survive the wild and dangerous reaches of space.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top