A Window Opens

A Window Opens

A Novel

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
3
"Egan's delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all." -- People

*People, Summer's Best Books *Entertainment Weekly, 8 Big Fat Beach Reads *Woman's Day, Great Summer Reads* Publishers Weekly, Best Summer Books *Good Housekeeping, Your Ultimate Summer Reading List* Minneapolis Star Tribune, 10 Novels Not to Miss* Coastal Living, Great Summer Reads * Time Out New York, Summer Reading List*Goop Newsletter, Best Summer '15 Reading*

Fans of I Don't Know How She Does It and Where'd You Go, Bernadette will cheer at this "fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all" ( People ) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny--only to learn every opportunity comes at a price.

In A Window Opens , beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as "wearing many hats" and wishes you wouldn't, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in--and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers―an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life―seems suddenly within reach.

Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new "balancing act" (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it's possible to have it all, but what does she―Alice Pearse―really want?
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2015.
Edition: First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781501105432
1501105434
9781501105463
1501105450
9781501105456
Branch Call Number: FIC EGA
Characteristics: 370 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
heckman3
Jul 29, 2016

I laughed and cried through this book. I love that the author acknowledges (through the protagonist's father) that sometimes it takes a while to figure things out. I felt that this was an honest and funny look at what motherhood was really like.

cmlibrary_wdoermann Feb 17, 2016

I enjoyed reading this. I found Alice to be a likable character, and thought the book had plenty of humor to it. I could relate to Alice in many ways, particularly the storyline involving her father's declining health, and how it changes her whole family. I especially enjoyed the depictions of the corporate world in which Alice finds herself, and the crazies she works for at Scroll.

ehbooklover Feb 12, 2016

I loved this! It was not what I expected as it was very upsetting and emotional at times (plot hit a bit too close to home for me) but despite that I could not put it down and spent almost an entire day devouring it. I enjoyed the many well-rounded characters, especially the fact that the protagonist shares a passionate love of reading and books (sound familiar?).

m
mousietoy
Jan 20, 2016

This covers a year in the life of a wife, and mother of three who finds herself in the position of having to take on a full time job in the corporate world, then re-examining her priorities.
Interesting family dynamics, and the best depiction of the corporate environment I have ever encountered. It was spot on- felt like I was back at the office... (shudder).

b
bibliovore
Sep 23, 2015

Fast, fun read all about life in a start-up - good if you enjoyed The Devil Wears Prada or I Don't Know How She Does It.

Quotes

Add a Quote

h
heckman3
Jul 29, 2016

"please don't waste time wondering whether it's possible to 'have it all.' Banish the expression from your vocabulary; make sure your friends do, too. A better question is What do you really want? Diving headlong into the second quarter of your life without asking this question is like going grocery shopping without a list. You'll end up with a full cart but nothing to cook for dinner. Figure out what you feel like eating, and then come up with your own recipe for the whole messy, delicious enchilada."

h
heckman3
Jul 29, 2016

"How many times had I pretended to listen to Nicholas or our kids when I was really agonizing about work? I was no more a Scroller than that horse was a car. The more I tried to assimilate, the more impatient, scattered, and unreliable I became."

c
Courtneyre3
Jul 25, 2016

"When you're a kid, you think you're going to have this deep well of time with your parents when you group and you're all on equal footing. When I had kids of my own, I thought that time would come when my kids grew up and I had a little more freedom. I imagined myself as a 50-year-old woman, strolling around the duck pond with my 80-year-old dad. I might have loop my arm through his. Now I knew, this was not to be."

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top