To Dwell in Darkness

To Dwell in Darkness

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
10
Rate this:
"In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder. Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander. The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss--who's been avoiding him--is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values--and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is" -- from publisher's web site.
Publisher: New York : William Morrow, 2014.
ISBN: 9780062271600
0062271601
Branch Call Number: Mystery / Crombie, Deborah
Characteristics: 324 p. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
htliang
Jul 23, 2015

I really struggled to get through this book. In fact, I originally gave up after just a few chapters. But I decided to start reading it again after I saw that it received good reviews. After finishing it, I wish I had not wasted my time.

I found the characters unlikable and the story uninteresting. I think the most riveting part of the book was finding out who would end up with one of the kittens belonging to the stray cat!

The ending seemed set up for a sequel...one that I definitely won't be reading.

n
ndexter
Feb 24, 2015

From start to finish Crombie presents an intriguing tale of a bombing in a train station with seamless transition between storyline, police procedures, characters and overall flow. Utilizing the talents of her traditional crime solvers, Duncan Kincaid, Gemma James Kincaid, Doug Cullen and Melody Talbot a train station bombing is solved. The story had well thought out premises, and solutions with suspense, nearly non-stop action. and a very good read. That being said, was unsure of her injecting prejudice, and racism into the story via Jasmine Sidana a DI that reported to Duncan Kincaid.
Lastly not enough kudos have been given Crombie for the pictorial maps in her books, which involve the reader and enhance the storyline, giving depth and meaning to location, location, location.

2
21221018293347
Jan 23, 2015

Another great book in the Kincaid/James series.

debwalker Nov 11, 2014

Another good read from Crombie with a bombing at St Pancras station. The backstory - the personal lives of Duncan and Gemma- just as interesting. How can you go wrong with kittens?

zullym Oct 20, 2014

Unfinished threads is an understatement. I could not believe the ending because there was no ending. I thought my copy was defective, truly. And I needn't add that Crombie is by far my favorite mystery writer and I have read all of her Kincaid and James books. This was a very superior read until it just stopped!!!

l
lpreston214
Oct 09, 2014

Family matters take a backseat in this installment in the Kincaid/James series. As Duncan get aclimated to his new position and staff, still nothing is revealed as to why he was transfered. Also, not much emotional stuff with the side characters except a bit about Melody. Most of the plot revolves around an incident in St Pancras station. All-in-all an ok police procedural. One thing I liked was that Crombie backed off a bit in her London travelogue. It ends with a bit of foreshadowing. Almost a cliff-hanger.

alexica Sep 29, 2014

Crombie just gets better and better. This is the best book in an excellent series. As she adds more interesting characters, her books allow for a richer and more complex and intricate plot. Police procedurals rarely involve familes and children but Crombie enhances her books by illustrating how frustrating yet rewarding they can make the job of policing..

s
stephaniedchase
Sep 01, 2014

Another excellent entry into the Kincaid/James series. While previous books have sometimes felt as though the mystery needing to be solved takes turns between our two detectives, the beautiful way the two separate police procedural storylines weave amongst each other in this is so welcome and most satisfying. On top of having not one, but two interesting mysteries to puzzle out, the way in which Crombie gives the perfect amount of face time to all of the beloved characters -- new and old -- in the series is also a wonderful treat for the reader, as we see relationships grow and deepen and get a look into the charming and very real household of Gemma and Duncan. There are many unfinished threads in TO DWELL IN DARKNESS, and I eagerly await the next one.

l
lsakaguchi
Aug 01, 2014

Book will not be published until Sept. 23, 2014. That is why it is on order.

jchallener Apr 15, 2014

This book has been on order for about 2 months. What is the holdup? Same for Linda Castillo's new book.
Thank you.
Jacquelyn Challener

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top