The Demon King

The Demon King

A Seven Realms Novel

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
31
8
Rate this:
Relates the intertwining fates of former street gang leader Han Alister and headstrong Princess Raisa, as Han takes possession of an amulet that once belonged to an evil wizard and Raisa uncovers a conspiracy in the Grey Wolf Court.
Publisher: New York : Disney/Hyperion Books, c2009.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9781423118237
1423118235
Characteristics: 506 p. ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

f
fantasybkaddict
Mar 23, 2016

For a more detailed review, check out this book on my blog!

https://readfantasybooks.wordpress.com/2016/02/07/the-seven-realms-series-by-cinda-williams-chima/

This was a great introduction to the series that allows us to form a bond with the characters. The world building and character development is spectacular and it only took me a few chapters to be completely engaged in the book. If you love character driven stories and don’t need a book containing a bunch of action, then I think you will love this book! It also has some similarities with Name of the Wind and Harry Potter, so if you like those, then I would try this!

s
ShamaBole
Dec 14, 2015

Not bad, but a bit frustrating that the two protagonists are so flawed. Han is definitely the weak link, and Raisa seems to be more focussed on whom she can kiss next. But still, interesting enough where I want to see how the story continues.

m
marthabwaters
May 15, 2015

I really enjoyed this series-opening YA fantasy. It featured couple of interesting, headstrong protagonists, and a world that felt fully realized and complex, combined with an intriguing plot that felt more like a warmup to the main series action than anything else. (In a good way.) Really looking forward to reading the remaining three volumes. Great readalike for fans of Graceling, Girl of Fire and Thorns, etc.

f
FullRetard69
Apr 07, 2015

I loved this book as it was a darker writing style then Chima's earlier work and ultimately the characters and the story really made me fall in love with the book and I cannot wait to read the second in the series.

b
BBurnett
Nov 10, 2014

YA epic fantasy. Pretty good- characters, several viewpoints, palace and alleys, intertwining of plot and characters. Enough action and suspense to make me want to read the next,

bridget0215 Aug 05, 2014

this begins one of my favorite serieses (I hope that's a word) and is definitely worth reading!!!

k
Kandachi500
Dec 03, 2013

I loveees When the character's paths intertwine, this book was The perfect escapist i cant wait to read the rest! At first I didnt like the change in P.O.V's but after a while you will find yourself wanting to know whats happening in both of the character's Lives!!!

c
cheesecake1357
Apr 05, 2013

Got me so into the characters' lives and thoughts. It's so rare to find a writer that can create such a beautiful, magical, almost real world! Can't wait for the last installment! :)

m
mramkissoon01
Mar 07, 2013

Great book, but a tad predictable. I enjoyed how each character is interconnected. Also, each chapter illustrates enough drama for the reader to continue reading. Looking forward to reading book two!

w
WestsideAsian
Nov 13, 2012

I though these books were going to be awful by the description and covers but the were AMAZING I mean like awesome!!!!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

b
blue_cheetah_1726
Nov 06, 2014

blue_cheetah_1726 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

blue_eagle_507 Mar 31, 2014

blue_eagle_507 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

l
LoveSongBB
Sep 07, 2013

LoveSongBB thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 14 and 27

Evny Jun 22, 2013

Evny thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 23 and 25

yellow_wolf_45 Jun 22, 2012

yellow_wolf_45 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

b
bookKITTY
Jun 27, 2011

bookKITTY thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

o
Orange_Tiger_124
Feb 16, 2011

Orange_Tiger_124 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 13

d
Drache
Dec 16, 2010

Drache thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top